About Us

Make a Donation
Local • Independent • Essential News

Static Chairs

Thursday, April 5, 2018 by Elizabeth Pagano

The Zoning and Platting Commission will be sticking with its current roster of officers by a unanimous Tuesday vote. Per that vote, Jolene Kiolbassa will continue to serve as chair, Jim Duncan will continue as vice chair, Betsy Greenberg will remain parliamentarian and Ana Aguirre continues as secretary. “I just think we are in the middle of one of the biggest issues facing this city, in terms of our deliberations and recommendations on CodeNEXT,” said Duncan. “It doesn’t seem necessary to change drivers … we can talk about it when all the dust settles in the fall.” That continuation was accepted, if not totally embraced by Kiolbassa, who did ask for volunteers to take over the work-heavy role of chair. The election also sparked a discussion about whether the commission was obligated to elect new officers every year. A few years ago the commission opted to limit chair terms to one year, and staff liaison Andrew Rivera explained that rule was adopted on a consensus vote of a previous commission. According to those rules, officers can serve up to four one-year terms. “Don’t even bring that up,” said Kiolbassa.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top