About Us

Make a Donation
Local • Independent • Essential News

LCRA board members say farewell

Thursday, May 21, 2015 by Tyler Whitson

Four members of the Lower Colorado River Authority board of directors took part in their last official meeting Wednesday, as the board prepares to welcome four new members appointed by Gov. Greg Abbott, according to his announcement Monday. Vice Chair John Dickerson and board members Jett Johnson, Michael McHenry, Vernon “Buddy” Schrader – all of whom former Gov. Rick Perry appointed – are leaving due to expiring terms. Dickerson, who had served on the board since 2004, made some remarks prior to the close of the meeting. “This position doesn’t belong to me, it doesn’t belong to any of us – it belongs to the basin,” he said. Abbott appointed Martha Leigh Whitten, George Russell, Joseph “Joe” Crane and Charles Barton “Bart” Johnson and reappointed current board member Lori Berger, initially appointed by Perry in 2009. The appointments are subject to Texas Senate confirmation, and the new terms will last through Feb. 1, 2021.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top