About Us

Make a Donation
Fully-Local • Non-Partisan • Public-Service Journalism

Manchaca Fire Chief gets top honor

Monday, August 18, 2014 by Mark Richardson

The International Association of Fire Chiefs has named Chief Chris Barron of the Manchaca Volunteer Fire Department as the 2014 winner of the Fire Chief of the Year awards. Barron has served as volunteer fire chief of Manchaca Fire/Rescue and executive director of the State Firemen’s and Fire Marshal’s Association of Texas, both since 2006. As Manchaca Fire/Rescue chief, Barron has led the department’s transition from an all-volunteer to a combination department, serving an area of 12 square miles and a population of more than 17,000 during a period of rapid growth. Winners are selected by a committee appointed by the association and are honored for their dedication and leadership in fire and emergency services. The IAFC will present the annual award Thursday at the 2014 Fire-Rescue International conference in Dallas.


Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top