About Us

Make a Donation
Local • Independent • Essential News

County votes on CTRMA appointees

Wednesday, November 25, 2015 by Caleb Pritchard

Travis County will definitely return one of its three appointees to the board of the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority while giving another one the chance to apply for another term. At a truncated regular voting session on Tuesday, the Commissioners Court voted 4-1 to reappoint David Armbrust and open up the application process for Charles Heimsath’s seat. Commissioner Ron Davis, who initially motioned simply to reappoint both men, was the lone opposition vote against Commissioner Brigid Shea’s substitute motion. “Given that (CTRMA) has such a huge impact on the affordability of transportation in the region, I think we owe it to the citizens to conduct a process to inquire about additional qualified candidates,” Shea said before the vote. Commissioner Gerald Daugherty noted that it was typical county policy to open up the application process after an appointee has been in office for six years. “That is the policy, and, I mean, I like Charles, but Charles can put his name back in there and interview,” Daugherty said. Nikelle Meade, the county’s third appointee to the board, is secure in her seat until February 2017.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top