About Us

Make a Donation
Fully-Local • Non-Partisan • Public-Service Journalism

AISD accepting suggestions for school names

Thursday, March 1, 2018 by Katy McElroy

Now that the Austin Independent School District has officially decided to rename five schools that were named after people with ties to the Confederacy, the district has decided to let the community decide what the new names should be. The five schools in question are John T. Allan Facility, Zachary Taylor Fulmore Middle School, Sidney Lanier High School, John H. Reagan High School and Eastside Memorial High School at the Johnston Campus. AISD is accepting submissions online at, by mail at Community Engagement Office, Facility Naming Team, 1111 W. Sixth St., A-230, Austin, TX, 78703, or in person. Nominations will be accepted until 5 p.m. March 16.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top