Tuesday, June 10, 2014 by Michael Kanin

Austin Monitor Radio, Show 2

Travis County Chief Appraiser, Austin City Council Member Kathie Tovo, and Travis County Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator Deece Eckstein join the Monitor‘s Mike Kanin and Beth Cortez-Neavel to talk property tax appraisals.

‹ Return to Today's Headlines

  Read latest Whispers ›

Do you like this story?

There are so many important stories we don't get to write. As a nonprofit journalism source, every contributed dollar helps us provide you more coverage. Do your part by joining our subscribers in supporting our reporters' work.

Key Players & Topics In This Article

Austin City Council: The Austin City Council is the body with legislative purview over the City of Austin. It offers policy direction, while the office of the City Manager implements administrative actions based on those policies. Until 2012, the body contained seven members, including the city's Mayor, all elected at-large. In 2012, City of Austin residents voted to change that system and now 10 members of the Council are elected based on geographic districts. The Mayor continues to be elected at-large.

Deece Eckstein: The current Intergovernmental Relations Coordinator for Travis County; former advisor to Gov. Anne Richards, and Chief of Staff for State Senator Rodney Ellis, among other notable career highlights. Deece is a donor to the Capital of Texas Media Foundation.

Marya Crigler: Marya Crigler is the Travis Chief Appraiser.

Travis County: Travis County is the urban county that includes, notably, Austin.

Back to Top