AUSTIN

OUTSIDE

- **To:** Mayor Adler; Council Members Harper-Madison, Garza, Renteria, Casar, Kitchen, Flannigan, Pool, Ellis, Tovo, and Alter
- **Re:** Adding a Safe Mobility Bond to the November ballot

Date: July 16, 2020

Dear Mayor Adler and Austin City Council Members,

Austin is on the cusp of transformational change in the ways we get around. Austinites new and old are looking for safer, healthier, more pleasant transportation options besides being stuck in traffic behind a steering wheel. The pandemic has laid bare both the clear need and the public appetite for a more equitable transportation system. That's why we urge you to seize this historic opportunity and, in addition to Project Connect, approve a \$750 million Safe Mobility Bond for public vote this November to fund a citywide network of sidewalks, bikeways, urban trails, and safe streets for all.

Such a bond will be Austin's chance to achieve its progressive mobility goals and transform our city into one where everyone is safe on our streets and is free to choose how they move around. Walking, bicycling, and using a mobility device such as a wheelchair should be enjoyable, convenient, safe ways for people of all ages, abilities, and backgrounds to get where they need to go, whether commuting to work, taking a safe route to school, running errands, visiting a friend, or enjoying nature.

Austin has already set bold goals to achieve these visions. The Austin Strategic Mobility Plan aims for 50 percent of trips to be made in ways other than driving alone by 2039. Through its Vision Zero program, Austin has committed to eliminating traffic deaths and serious injuries by 2025. And the Community Climate Plan calls for reducing carbon emissions to net-zero by 2050. Now we must fund these goals.

This is the moment to act. November's likely high-turnout election will be a generational opportunity to advance transformational, safe, and sustainable mobility choices at the ballot. City Council and staff have worked diligently to make Austin's streets safer and more accessible for all and it's working; people are moving around differently, and they're ready to take the next big step forward, as is evidenced by more than 3,100 members of the public who have signed our public petition and by over 80 organizations and businesses who have signed onto this letter, support that will continue to grow moving forward.

With your leadership, we look forward to a \$750 million Safe Mobility Bond on this November's ballot. Our organizations and citywide volunteer networks are ready to engage the public to support this bond and to embrace a new transportation future for generations to enjoy.

Thank you for your service to the people of Austin.



Sincerely,

Joanna Wolaver, Board President, Austin Outside Ted Siff, Principal, Creating Common Ground Jim Wick, Executive Director, MoveATX Shelby Massey, Government Relations Director - Texas, American Heart Association Delia Jervier, Executive Director, Alzheimer's Association, Capital of Texas Sarah Ortiz Shields, Executive Director, Austin Tech Alliance Heidi Anderson, CEO, The Trail Foundation Colin Wallis, CEO, Austin Parks Foundation Chris Riley, Board President, Bike Austin Adam Greenfield, Board President, Walk Austin Jay Blazek Crossley, Executive Director, Farm&City Kathy Sokolic, Chair, Vision Zero ATX and Central Texas Families For Safe Streets Steve McKee, Executive Director, Texas Physicians for Social Responsibility Luke Metzger, Executive Director, Environment Texas Ronda Rutledge, Executive Director, Sustainable Food Center Charli Krause, Program Director, Generation SERVE Amy McGeady, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer, It's Time Texas Bay Scoggin, Director, TexPIRG Mateo Barnstone, Executive Director, Congress For the New Urbanism Central Texas Cesar Acosta, President, AURA Heyden Black Walker, Chair, Board of Directors, Reconnect Austin Sarah Tober, Executive Director, Scenic Austin Gaby Benitez, Education Programs Coordinator, Keep Austin Beautiful Ivey Kaiser, Executive Director, Shoal Creek Conservancy Tom Wald, Executive Director, Red Line Parkway Initiative Heath Riddles, CEO, Pease Park Conservancy David Todd, Co-founder, Blunn Creek Partnership Kelly Davis, Senior Staff Attorney, Save Our Springs Alliance Garry Merritt, Chief Executive Officer, Great Springs Project George Cofer, CEO, Hill Country Conservancy Sarah Story, Executive Director, UMLAUF Sculpture Garden and Museum Pete Gilcrease, Board President, Friends of Hyde Park Melinda Chow, Executive Director, Austin Youth River Watch Racae Meyer, Owner, Archery Training Center, Inc. Katherine Mason, Executive Director, Public Green & Wild Robyn Ramos, Director, Little Angels Learning Center Charlton Perry, Director Outdoor Education, St. Stephen's Episcopal School Jim Crosby, Founder, Nonviolent Austin Eileen McPhillips Portner, Board President, Downtown Austin Neighborhood Association Alyson Beaton, Communications Director, Highland Neighborhood Association John Wooding, Chair, Mueller Neighborhood Association Ted Siff, President, Old Austin Neighborhood Association

AUSTIN

OUTSIDE

Jen Massing Harris, Co-Founder/President, Parque Zaragoza Neighborhood Association Nora Julianna Wilcoxson, Managing Member, Front Yard Gardens Alicia Roth Weigel, Executive Board, Austin Young Democrats Timothy Bray, President, Austin Environmental Democrats Hill Abell, CEO, Bicycle Sport Shop Nico Probst, Director of Government Relations, Lime Caroline Samponaro, Head of Micromobility & Transit Public Policy, Lyft Volunteer Collective, Yellow Bike Project Dor Korngold, Founder and CEO, Mod Bikes Brad Wimberly, Owner, Bikealot Frank Prior, CEO, ATX Bikes Mike Librik, Owner, Easy Street Recumbents Will Black, General Manager, Mellow Johnny's Daniel Kasprzak, Business Process Analyst, Woom Bikes USA Sinclair Black, Principal, Black + Vernooy Architects Clinton Sayers, Partner, Sayers Real Estate Advisors, Inc. Jonathan Ogren, Principal, Siglo Group William Schroeder, LPC, Founder & Co-Director, Just Mind Counselling Litsy Witkowski, Co-Founder, Rivet Education Kristy Sprott, CEO, The Format Group Catina Voellinger, Board of Directors, Collective Campaigns Christopher Migliorini, CEO, Pronova Designs Eric Hills CEO, WrangleWorks Cody McLain, CEO, SupportNinja Joshua Brito, Captic Media Justin Petro, CEO, Thinktiv Abigail Schaefer, Director Of Operations, Best Ring POS Scott Magic, Principal, Magic Architecture Matt Lewis, CEO, Simplecity Design Christopher Karlin, Chief Investment Officer, Aquitania Capital Management Gabriel Rojas, President, Rojas Planning Jessica Alexander, CEO, JEALEXphoto Russell J. Chalk, Attorney-at-Law Jesse Devlyn, CEO, Devlyn Optical Michael Fogel, Vice President, Trinity Housing Development Steven Ascherl, Owner, Red Dot Building Co. Lucy Begg, Owner, Thoughtbarn Mark Lind, Owner, Sun+Stone Design Dillon Moody, Founder, Odopac Heather Yu, Co-Owner, Sweet Chive Ambrose Austin, Chief Operating Officer, ED311 Daniel Woodroffe, President, dwg Perry Lorenz Margaret Robinson, Founding Principal, Asakura Robinson