About Us

Make a Donation
Local • Independent • Essential News

Runoff elections set today

Monday, December 15, 2014 by Mark Richardson

Today is Runoff Election Day for candidates in the Austin mayor and City Council races, for three Austin Independent School District board seats and for a seat on the Austin Community College board. In Austin city elections, all voters will cast ballots in the mayoral runoff between Mike Martinez and Steve Adler. Voters will also settle several district Council races. In Council District 1, they will choose between DeWayne Lofton and Ora Houston; in District 3, the candidates are Sabino “Pio” Renteria and Susana Almanza; in District 4, the candidates are Greg Casar and Laura Pressley; in District 6, candidates are Don Zimmerman and Jimmy Flannigan; in District 7, candidates are J.E. “Jeb” Boyt and Leslie Pool; in District 8, the candidates are Ellen Troxclair and Ed Scruggs; and in District 10, candidates are Sheri Gallo and Mandy Dealey. In the AISD runoff, voters in District 1 will choose between David Thompson and Edmund Gordon; in District 6, Paul Saldaña and Kate Mason-Murphy; and in At-Large District 9, voters citywide will choose between Kendall Pace and Hillary Procknow. In the ACC Place 2 Trustees race, voters will choose between Gigi Edwards Bryant and Jade Chang Sheppard. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Election officials say voters can cast a ballot at any polling place as long as they can properly identify themselves. Voting precincts are listed on voter registration cards and a list of polling places is available on the Travis County Elections website.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top