About Us

Make a Donation
Fully-Local • Non-Partisan • Public-Service Journalism

Planning Commission sticks by leadership

Friday, April 13, 2018 by Elizabeth Pagano

Planning Commissioners voted unanimously to stick with their current slate of officers Tuesday. Stephen Oliver will remain chair, Fayez Kazi will stay on as vice chair, James Schissler will be parliamentarian and James Shieh will continue as secretary of the commission. “While we are in CodeNEXT right now, I’ll just say, ‘keep the same hands on the wheel, and you guys are doing a great job,’” said Commissioner Greg Anderson. He was backed by his fellow commissioners, who did not seem to buy claims that Oliver has inappropriately mingled commission work on CodeNEXT with his own interests. “I don’t always agree with everything the officers have to say but I’ve been very impressed by the fairness and the way the commission has been run,” said Commissioner Conor Kenny. “I look forward to continuing fair and transparent leadership.” Commissioners voted 9-0 to elect the officers to a one-year term. Oliver and Commissioners Angela De Hoyos Hart, Tom Nuckols and Trinity White were absent for the vote.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top