About Us

Make a Donation
Fully-Local • Non-Partisan • Public-Service Journalism

First redistricting commission members selected

Tuesday, January 26, 2021 by Tai Moses

The first eight members of the Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission, which is tasked with redrawing the boundaries of the 10 City Council districts for the 2022 election, have been selected by City Auditor Corrie Stokes via a random drawing. The eight members are Prabhu Kannan, Brigham Morris, Errol Hardin, Eugene Schneider, Erin Dempsey, Luis Gonzalez, Dr. Sterling Lands and Hoang Le. Now that the first eight members are seated, those members will conduct a process to select the remaining six members of the commission for a total of 14 members. Stokes said in a news release about the selection, “I’d like to thank all applicants for both the panel and the commission. Active citizenry is one of the things that makes Austin a great place to live and I appreciate the time and effort everyone took to apply to both of these important city bodies.”

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top