About Us

Make a Donation
Fully-Local • Non-Partisan • Public-Service Journalism

Award honors women in government

Wednesday, September 14, 2016 by Nora Ankrum

The recipients of the 2016 Outstanding Women in Texas Government Awards will be honored this Thursday at an event held by the State Agency Council to the Governor’s Commission for Women. According to an announcement from the council, the award is intended to “honor women in state service who have helped shape Texas by contributing their talents and skills.” The recipients are: Sandra Woodruff, Comptroller’s Office (outstanding professional development); Shannon Blalock, Texas Parks and Wildlife (outstanding management); Christine Maldonado, Health & Human Services Commission, Office of Inspector General (outstanding leadership); Susan Dorsey, General Land Office (outstanding community involvement).

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top