About Us

Make a Donation
Fully-Local • Non-Partisan • Public-Service Journalism

Four Democrats, no GOP to vie for District Attorney

Friday, January 4, 2008 by Austin Monitor

No Republicans had filed for their party’s nomination for Travis County District Attorney by Wednesday’s deadline, which means the contest will be decided in the Democratic Party Primary. Current prosecutors Gary Cobb, Mindy Montford, Rick Reed, and Rosemary Lehmberg are all seeking the Democratic Party’s nomination. If none of them receives more than 50 percent of the vote in the March 4 primary election, the runoff will be held April 8.


The Democratic nominee in State Representative District 46 will not face a Republican challenger either. However, incumbent Dawnna Dukes is facing a challenge for her party’s nomination from attorney Brian Thompson.


In District 47, incumbent Democrat Valinda Bolton will face Republican Donna Keel in the fall general election. Keel previously worked for the Lake Travis ISD and is currently an internal auditor with the State Comptroller’s Office. She is married to Thornton Keel.


In District 48, Dr. Joseph Donnelly and Pamela D. Waggoner are both seeking the Republican nomination to run against incumbent Democrat Donna Howard. Waggoner is currently a board member of the Leander ISD.

Incumbent State Rep. Elliott Naishtat will face a challenger from the Republican Party in the fall general election for the District 49 seat. Jim Hasik filed to run as the GOP candidate. Hasik is a defense-industry consultant and the co-author of the book “The Precision Revolution: GPS and the Future of Aerial Warfare”.


Incumbent State Rep. Mark Strama, a Democrat, will also face a GOP challenger in District 50 from Jerry J. Mikus, Jr. State Rep. Eddie Rodriguez is running for re-election unopposed in District 51.


Former Travis County Sheriff Raymond Frank filed to run against incumbent Sheriff Greg Hamilton. Frank ran against Hamilton for the Democratic Party’s nomination in 2004. This time, Frank filed as a candidate in the Republican Party.


And while Democratic party voters will get to choose between incumbent Nelda Wells-Spears and challenger Glen Maxey for their party’s nominee for Tax Assessor-Collector, the winner of that office won’t officially be decided until the November general election. Frequent candidate Don Zimmerman has filed to run as the Republican Party’s nominee.

Join Your Friends and Neighbors

We're a nonprofit news organization, and we put our service to you above all else. That will never change. But public-service journalism requires community support from readers like you. Will you join your friends and neighbors to support our work and mission?

Back to Top